Staff Directory

Please note: information provided on this page may not be used for sending unsolicited commercial electronic messages

General Inquiries/Questions:

info@northcowichan.ca (note: this is monitored daily and inquiries will be responded to quickly)

Administration

Ted Swabey Chief Administrative Officer 250-746-3203  ted.swabey@northcowichan.ca
Natasha Horsman Manager of
Communications
and Strategic Initiatives
250-746-3156 natasha.horsman@northcowichan.ca 

Corporate Services

Mark Ruttan

Director of

Corporate Services /

Deputy CAO

250-746-3100 mark.ruttan@northcowichan.ca
Alyssa Meiner

Deputy Director of

Corporate Services

250-746-3100  alyssa.meiner@northcowichan.ca

Development Services

Kyle Young Director of
Development Services
250-746-3178  kyle.young@northcowichan.ca
Nelda Richardson

Manager of Building

and Compliance

250-746-3125 nelda.richardson@northcowichan.ca 

Engineering and Operations

David Conway

Director of Engineering 
and Operations

250-746-3136    david.conway@northcowichan.ca
Clay Reitsma

Deputy Director of

Engineering and Operations

250-746-3159 clay.reitsma@northcowichan.ca
Barbara Thomas

Manager of Engineering
(Development and
Capital Projects)

250-746-3130

barbara.thomas@northcowichan.ca 

Ron Maylen

 Manager of Operations

250-746-3146

 ron.maylen@northcowichan.ca 

Robert Bell

Assistant Manager of

Operations (Utilities)

250-746-3144

robert.bell@northcowichan.ca

Dan Milne

Assistant Manager of Operations

(Capital Projects and

Building Maintenance)

250-746-3181

dan.milne@northcowichan.ca

Financial Services

Mark Frame Director of Financial Services 250-746-3100 mark.frame@northcowichan.ca
Walter Wiebe

Deputy Director of

Financial Services

250-746-3100 walter.wiebe@northcowichan.ca

Fire

Contact information for all four fire halls is listed on the Fire page. 

Media inquiries: Natasha Horsman, Communications & Strategic Initiatives Manager, (250) 709-5012 (cell phone), natasha.horsman@northcowichan.ca 

Human Resources

Sarah Nixon

Director of
Human Resources

250-746-3100 sarah.nixon@northcowichan.ca

Information Technology and GIS Services

Jason Birch

Director of

Information Technology
and GIS Services

250-746-3100 jason.birch@northcowichan.ca
Jason Hammerer

Manager of

Technical and
Client Services

250-746-3184 jason.hammerer@northcowichan.ca

Parks, Forestry and Recreation

Ernie Mansueti

Director of Parks, Forestry 

and Recreation 

250-746-3110 ernie.mansueti@northcowichan.ca
Don Stewart

Deputy Director of Parks, 

Foresty and Recreation

250-746-3193 don.stewart@northcowichan.ca
Jason Blood

Manager of Recreation

250-746-3307 jason.blood@northcowichan.ca 
Shaun Mason

Municipal Forester

250-746-3124 shaun.mason@northcowichan.ca 

Contacting us by Mail

You can also reach us in writing using Canada Post. Letters should be addressed to: 
Municipality of North Cowichan
7030 Trans-Canada Highway
Duncan, BC, V9L 6A1

Correspondence is received by staff and either forwarded to the appropriate department or to a Council or a Committee meeting for a decision on action to be taken. Under provincial law, letters addressed to Council in most cases are public information.If you have any questions about access to information or protection of privacy, contact the Deputy Corporate Officer.