Boards and Committees

The Mayor and Council establish committees, commissions and other advisory bodies from time-to-time to handle matters that are brought before it for consideration. All input, decisions and recommendations received from its advisory bodies are subject to Council approval or formal ratification.

Board and Committee meetings are open to the public and will continue to be conducted by video conference, using the Cisco Webex platform until December 31, 2022, as the Municipality transitions back to in person meetings. Meetings will continue to be streamed live at to provide the public with the ability to hear and/or watch and hear the proceedings.  

Notice of, and agendas for, meetings are posted on the Municipality's website and on the Municipal Hall public notice board a minimum of 72 hours before the time of the meeting. Notices will identify whether the meeting will be conducted in person or virtually. The meeting minutes are provided for information purposes in the next regularly scheduled Council meeting Consent Agenda for Council's review and consideration of any resulting recommendations.

Select Committees

Council establishes select committees to inquire into or consider any matter and then report its findings and opinions to Council. At least one member of a select committee must be a member of Council.

Standing Committees

The Mayor may establish a standing committee for any matter that the mayor believes would be better managed and regulated by means of such a committee. Matters are referred to the committee and then the committee reports back to Council with or without a recommendation. At least half of the members of a standing committee must be members of Council.

Other Advisory Bodies

An advisory body’s role is to provide recommendations, advice and information to Council and staff on those matters which relate to the mandate of the advisory body and on any matters which may be referred to them by Council or staff. Advisory bodies play an integral role in the Municipality’s public engagement efforts by focusing on a particular topic that has an impact on communities within North Cowichan and its people. They are often asked by staff to provide early feedback on specific projects and initiatives and work within their terms of reference or mandate.

  • OCP Advisory Committee - the OCP Advisory Group and Ambassadors provide Council with meaningful input and recommendations on a range of community issues and implementation strategies to support the OCP update.

Boards and Panels

Cowichan Valley Regional District Board

Mayor Al Siebring
Councillor Debra Toporowski
Councillor Kate Marsh
Alternates in order:
Councillor Christopher Justice
Councillor Tek Manhas
Councillor Rosalie Sawrie

External Liaison Appointments (Voting Members)

Advisory Committee on Disability Issues (City of Duncan)
Councillor Rosalie Sawrie Councillor Kate Marsh
Island Savings Centre Commission
Mayor Al Siebring Councillor Rob Douglas
Councillor Kate Marsh Councillor Rosalie Sawrie
Councillor Tek Manhas Councillor Debra Toporowski
Tourism Advisory Committee (City of Duncan)
Councillor Tek Manhas Councillor Debra Toporowski
Vancouver Island Regional Library Board
Councillor Rosalie Sawrie  Councillor Christopher Justice

External Liaison Appointments (Non-Voting Members)

BC Forest Discovery Centre

Chemainus and District Chamber of Commerce

Councillor Tek Manhas

Mayor Al Siebring

Chemainus Festival of Murals Society Cowichan Communities Health Network

Councillor Kate Marsh

Councillor Rosalie Sawrie

Cowichan Community Policing Advisory Society

Cowichan Housing Coalition

Councillor Rosalie Sawrie

Councillor Kate Marsh

Cowichan Success-By-Six

Crofton Community Centre Society

Councillor Debra Toporowski

 Councillor Rob Douglas

Duncan Cowichan Chamber of Commerce

 Maple Bay Community Association
Councillor Tek Manhas  Councillor Christopher Justice

Social Planning Cowichan Board

Somenos Management Committee
 Councillor Christopher Justice  Councillor Christopher Justice
Quamichan Watershed Stewardship Society
Councillor Christopher Justice