Elections

2022 General Local Elections

Elections for one (1) Mayor and six (6) Councillors to represent the District of North Cowichan occur every four (4) years. North Cowichan also assists in the administration of the election for seven (7) School Trustees to represent School District No. 79 (Cowichan Valley).

The next General Local Election will be held on Saturday, October 15, 2022 with Advance Voting Opportunities being held on Wednesday, October 5, 2022, and Tuesday, October 11, 2022.

                        

2022 General Local Elections Important Dates

Start of Election Period

Saturday, January 1, 2022

 

Start of Nomination Period

Tuesday, August 30, 2022 

at 9:00 am

End of Nomination Period

Friday, September 9, 2022

at 4:00 pm

Declaration of Candidates

Friday, September 9, 2022

after 4:00 pm

Period to challenge candidate nominations ends

Tuesday, September 13, 2022

at 4:00 pm

End of Election Period Friday, September 16, 2022

at Midnight

Start of Campaign Period Saturday, September 17, 2022

at 12:01 am

Candidate Information Session #1

Tuesday, September 20, 2022

from 2:00 - 3:30 pm

Candidate Information Session #2

Monday, September 26, 2022

from 7:00 - 8:30 pm

Advance Voting Opportunity Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Second Advance Voting Opportunity Tuesday, October 11, 2022
End of Campaign Period Saturday, October 15, 2022
General Voting Day Saturday, October 15, 2022
Preliminary Election Results

Saturday, October 15, 2022

after 8:00 pm

Declaration of Official Election Results

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

by 4:00 pm

Financing Disclosure Statement Filing Deadline Friday, January 13, 2023

Contact Information

Michelle Martineau, Chief Election Officer
Phone: 250-746-3203
Email: michelle.martineau@northcowichan.ca

Tricia Mayea, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Phone: 250-746-3125
Email: tricia.mayea@northcowichan.ca