Boards & Panels

Joint Utilities Board

The Duncan-North Cowichan Joint Utilities Board is governed by Duncan-North Cowichan Joint Utilities Agreement Bylaw 1977 and is comprised of two members from City of Duncan Council (Mayor Staples and Councillor Bruce) and two members from the District of North Cowichan Council (Mayor Rob Douglas and Councillor Findlay).

The Joint Utilities Board governs the joint financing, construction, operation and maintenance of certain municipal utilities and sewerage facilities for the benefit of both municipalities.

Board of Variance 

All Board of Variance Hearings are held in the Large Committee Room at Municipal Hall, 7030 Trans-Canada Highway, Duncan, BC.

Cowichan Valley Regional District Board

  • Municipal Director, Mayor Rob Douglas

  • Municipal Director, Councillor Chris Istace

  • Municipal Director, Councillor Christopher Justice

  • Municipal Director, Councillor Debra Toporowski


  • Alternate Director #1 Councillor Tek Manhas
  • Alternate Director #2 Councillor Mike Caljouw
  • Alternate Director #3 Councillor Bruce Findlay